scariness after the op.

hi friends and fellow RnYers

I am 4 weeks post op. I’ve been doing relatively well (although I struggled with fever in the beginning). I’ve been losing weight as well.

I’ve been on a bit more solid food for the past 2 weeks. My food ranges from chicken to fish and shrimp – boiled egg – gem squash, gherkins, mash potatoes, asparagus in a can, bit of peanut butter, vegetable soup, bean soup, ham, cheese wedges. (I don’t think that gherkins are allowed, but i chew it really really fine, I crave it so much, it seems I am pregnant! NO, no chocolate craving, leave the chips, give me a gherkin!! perhaps I am lacking something?)

I try and eat slowly and chew chew, but sometimes I still struggle with it. A few times it also happened that I ate a bit just too much and then suffered the consequences. I had a terrible pain in my chest/tummy area and was laying down, even falling asleep, feeling quite horrible.

I really have to try and slow myself down some more.

For 2 days now I’ve been feeling a slight pressure in my tummy area, just below the boob area…

I used to suffer from stomach ulcers from time to time and it is a bit of a similar feeling.

I was ulcer free when I had my op, although 3 months previously my doctor did find there was some inflammation and I was on medication the whole time up until my operation (for 3 months then).

I received some Nexium to drink after my op, but I could only manage to drink it for a week. Then I HAD to stop all medications as it was making me very ill and extremely nauseous. Since stopping all meds my fever has gone away and I’ve been doing a lot better.

But now I am just worried about this weird little pain in my chest/tummy area. It also feels as if my bra is on too tight. Do you know the feeling?

I don’t know whether I should be worried or not.

* can it be an ulcer?
* can it be me who “broke” my intestines by going on more solid food too quickly? (I had it really mushy though, and it was only a few days earlier – I felt really ready)
* Can it be me who “broke” everything by those few times that I struggled and ate a bit too fast and too much and had to lie down?
* can it be the gherkins that are quite sour and strong?
* is it just me healing?
* or feeling the pain for the first time now that I am totally free of fever?
* or perhaps even me ovulating and now it feels weird?

Please I would love to get some feedback. I can’t just go back to my doctor for any little pain or so, I don’t feel comfortable to do that. Also, I don’t want to bother him unnecessary he is really busy.

Does anybody have some memories of something similar?

Must be how first time moms feel – so scared I am going to “break” the “baby”!

(ugh, but I also don’t want to kill myself in the end, you know?)

2 thoughts on “scariness after the op.

  1. Sounds like it might be gallbladder pains. The feeling of “bra being too tight” is what I felt when I had a gallbladder attack. I had my gallbladder removed and poof no more pain!

    • Thank you so much for the visit and telling me this!

      I few people has said something similar at RnYTalk and I am closely monitoring how I am feeling.

      It went a bit better over the weekend. Still feeling a bit tight though.

      I just don’t want to go back to the hospital! It was a bad experience for me and I am actually quite mortified thinking I would have to go back there. Haha already even started seriously considering a home birth when trying to fall pregnant in 2 years’ time! 😉

      But of course my health is very important and if my gallbladder has to come it, so it’ll be.

      Will see how it goes in the week. We have our support group meeting this week as well so hopefully I can chat with other patients about this and hopefully Doc will also come by and I’ll have an informal chat to him about it.

      How long we’re you in hospital? And how long did it take to recover for you?

Leave a Reply

